I took a week off last week and it was glorious. Hell, I didn’t even go to the gym like I had planned to continue doing. The best part was doing some mobility work this morning and having no aches, pains or tightness. Mentally, it’s nice to take a break from the grind as well. Now I know there are a lot of fitness people who will say that if I am viewing it as a grind, then I am approaching health and fitness from the wrong perspective. I say THAT is the wrong perspective. You do anything long enough, I don’t care how much you love it, once in a while it’s gonna feel like a grind. The power of positivity only gets you so far.

All that is in the rear view now. A new week, and we are back at it. I am going with a modest calorie restriction for the week. Nothing too crazy. I have substituted breakfast Monday through Friday with this high protein mixed berry and greens smoothie that I saw on YouTube. I was skeptical having seen versions of this before, but figured I would give it a try.

1 scoop vanilla whey protein

1 cup unsweetened coconut milk

2 cups Super Greens (Kale/spinach /chard mix)

1 cup frozen mixed berries

½ cup Whole Milk Greek Yogurt

Works out to 350 calories, 30g carbs, 12g fat, 37g protein. A lot of good fats, high in potassium, and really high in Vitamins A and C, and 9g of fiber (so in reality 21g Net carbs). I tasted it to see if any sweetener was needed, because in the video they said some people find it a little bitter. But it tasted fine to me. Pretty good actually. I could use a better blender but that’s not so much a fitness issue as it is an “I like kitchen gadgets” issue.

I like this break thing. I may do it again in a few weeks. Like 4 weeks maybe….I will play it by ear and see what my body tells me. There was a break in the clean eating Friday night and again on Saturday. Saturday we had pizza and wings, and there were snacks involved. It was a game night with a bunch of people, so social grazing was in full effect. That has resulted in a little bit of bloating from all the processed carbs and nitrates. But I know that if I stay clean for a few days then that issue takes care of itself.

For now, I am back to moving relentlessly forward to my 2017 goals. Like the shark, keep swimming or you sink and eventually die.

Leave a Reply

