New Trends and Staying Consistent

When it comes to working out, I am a fairly old-school guy. I believe in hitting heavy weights and crushing it hard in a 5×5 program, boot camp style workouts with bodyweight, plyometrics and maybe a dumbbell or two, even cross training combinations like those found in Crossfit WOD. I also do standard cardio stuff like rowing, elliptical, treadmill and bike. But doesn’t some of that sound a lot like new-school progressive stuff?

cow

Well it is….sort of. I believe in tried and true methods, especially when they get results. However I don’t make myself a slave to any one methodology. I add pieces to my fitness repertoire as I discover and test them. If I get results without getting hurt (or a high potential for getting hurt)it becomes another tool in the box. If you read my workout journal, it’s like a patchwork quilt at times. I may slide into a 5×5 Strong lift program to increase overall gross muscle strength. I may infuse my training with a Crossfit WOD to increase a specific type of functional strength or work on improving a particular energy system. Or as a method of recovery, I drop down to just cardio/endurance training for a week or more. I take my fitness one step at a time. I don’t have specific goals like competing in powerlifting, or doing another Tough Mudder (Although 3 Headbands would be better than two…), or even doing another Strongman Competition.

I like to think that my fitness regimen is as varied and interesting as I like to think that I am. I am not a slave to the latest fashion.

There is a lot of fashionable fitness trends that float by every day, and people rush to them like lemmings. Then to the next, then the next, then the next. Eating Chia seeds one day, sprouted grains the next, Spin classes, Barre, Pilates, Crossfit, Boot camp, Cardio Kickboxing, Zumba, Prancercize, Insanity, Kinobody, eating Paleo, Zone, Zone Paleo, fats bad, fats good, Primal Diets, cleanses, detoxes, new compression sleeves, Reebok Nanos, Old School Chuck Taylors for deadlifting, pre-workout, post workout shakes, pre-workout bad, post workout shakes aren’t necessary, yes they are!

matrix

There is no spoon? Where does it all end? It doesn’t. I guess the key point I am trying to make here is that I don’t see anything wrong with maintaining a varied approach to fitness. If you mix things up and it gets results, keep mixing it up from time to time. However, give it time to work. I won’t do a strength gaining program for anything less than 6 weeks, otherwise what the point? I will never try and drop less than 5 pounds, unless it’s the last 5 pounds. Why bother? If 4 pounds is out of the blue bothering you, you have a deeper issue and losing it isn’t going to help.

Be consistent in your attitude of wanting to be fit and healthy, but vary your approach from time to time. Don’t feel the need to dash from trend to trend. Despite claims, one is really no better than then other. Nothing beats consistency and commitment. Don’t let these fitness gypsies lure you in with their “science”, like they have suddenly discovered “the long lost secret” secret to losing weight.

There are no secrets. There is no magic pill, program, or item you can buy and get a second one free. There is only consistency, hard work, dedication and discipline. Sometimes it’s not very sexy, but it will get the job done every time.

Leave a Reply

