Apocalypse

I woke up feeling not that well rested, but in a very positive mood. Dunkin got my iced coffee just right. My commute was uneventful and pretty painless. 

I saunter into work cheery, saying good morning to people. Even the copier breakdown didn’t throw me off. I remain in a chipper and very happy mood. 

My co-workers seem to think this is a sign of the apocalypse. Just based solely on my change from my normal morning behavior. 

What does that say about me? Am I really that nasty in the morning? Have I become empathically blind to my interactions with my co- workers? I walk in cheery and in a good mood and they all look at me like any second I am going to pull out a shotgun and lay waste to everyone. 

One thing is certain, I need to shift this paradigm. I don’t want the first 30 minutes of my day to define the next seven hours and thirty after that. My surly, stand-off ish attitude the first 39 minutes sets the tone for my entire day. That includes the perceptions of my co-workers. 

Immediate change is needed. I don’t want to be known as “that guy”, and I certainly don’t want to be the one who sets the tone for everyone around me. I think a pause before I leave the house, for a little reflection and positive affirmation may help. 

I am going to try it for a week. I will leave myself a reminder each morning just to be safe. Just 5-10 minutes to focus myself and adjust my attitude. What can it hurt? And an added bonus, so far this morning I have been fairly productive. Productive enough that I have time to stop and blog….and I have been at work for only an hour. 

What to you do to start your day off on the right foot? I am interested in what others do. 

Leave a Reply

