All is well

Well, I was sick. Now I am not. Apparently, it wasn’t meant to be. A quick sniffle and that was all she wrote. I would like to think that  getting rest, fluids, lots of zinc and vitamin C, and a well timed workout  turned the tide. Yes, I worked out while sick. Sometimes you just hve to knuckle down and knock it out. I took a hefty swig of pre-workout, did a good warm up and had at it.

As it turns out, it was a good workout after all. Today I am fully back on track. nutrition, water, cardio day, the whole nine yards.  Firing on all cylinders again. Now watch, after all that, I will relapse……((((knocking on wood))))).

I did a bit of a diagnostic on myself today. My weight loss hasn’t been as steady as I would have liked. So after some reflection and a bit of googling, I came up with 20 common reasons why this could be. All logical and applicable to me. Then I went through and eliminated all those that were most likley not the problem. This is why you track what you eat, drink, and lift. It allows for objective proof. Something may have gotten missed and you might not notice it. But if you go back and look at the data,  you can see patterns. Sometimes you need to step back a bit and take a broader view.

I narrowed it down to a list of five suspects, and I will be watching them all very closely in the short term. First, I relied too much on weight and not enough on waist measurements. Second, I haven’t been drinking near enough water, and I haven’t been tracking it. Third, I haven’t been as vigilant as I could have been tracking my food. I winged it quite a bit.  Fourth, my protein intake has been too low. Fifth, my carbohydrate intake has been too high.

So since I had the data to look at, I know exactly how I want to correct. I made up a little weekly cheat sheet that I can use to make sure I am hitting ALL my goals on a daily basis. That may seem a little anal retentive, but this is a game of inches after all. Little victories can be easily erased by equally little defeats. I am giving these changes a few weeks to see if I get results. I believe I am on the right path, I must need some tweaks and some focus.

We shall see. Right now I am just thankful to be well again. 

Leave a Reply

